Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Match Reports

📝Match Report: Mansfield Town 2-1 Grimsby Town

Another late strike denies Town.

6 November 2018

Anne Boyers

Another late goal denied the Mariners as Mansfield Town came from behind to win 2-1 at the One Call stadium tonight.

Wes Thomas’ deflected strike put Town ahead, but the Stags equalised just five minutes into the second half through Tyler Walker.

The Mariners looked to be heading back to Cleethorpes with a deserved point, but with just eight minutes remaining, up popped Walker again to head home past James McKeown.

The Town boss had made four changes going into the game.

Martyn Woolford, Akin Famewo, Jake Hessenthaler, and Jordan Cook all came into the starting line-up, with Alex Whitmore missing out through injury and Harry Clifton dropping to the bench.

It almost came, too, but it would have been at the wrong end.

Danny Rose found himself one on one with James McKeown after a pass deflected kindly into his path, but the striker was ultimately thwarted by Town’s long serving number one.

McKeown promptly raced off his line to stop Walker in his tracks, soon after Danny Collins had blazed over from a corner.

As the clock ticked by, Jacob Mellis fizzed an effort on target, but McKeown was yet again equal to the task.

Wes Thomas then saw his header – from a Ben Pringle corner – cleared off the line, but the opener wasn’t too long in coming.

Thomas drifted past his man and into the area, his initial effort was saved by Olejnik, but some how it found its way into the net off Malvind Benning.

Mansfield hit back instantly after the restart when one of two half-time substitutes, Craig Davies, picked out Walker, who made no mistake to level the scores

Clear-cut opportunities were few and far between after the break, but when the Stags did break through the Town rearguard they found James McKeown at his best again.

But it was that man Walker again, who heading home an inviting cross to give his side all three points.

Mansfield Town

12 Bobby Olejnik 
22 CJ Hamilton 
3 Malvind Benning 
17 Ryan Sweeney 
5 Krystian Pearce (C) 
4 Matt Preston
8 Jacob Mellis 
20 Timi Max Elsnik 
6 Neal Bishop 
32 Danny Rose 
19 Tyler Walker


1 Conrad Logan SUB
2 Hayden White SUB
11 Will Atkinson SUB
16 Calum Butcher SUB
30 Alistair Smith SUB
9 Craig Davies SUB
29 Jordan Graham

Grimsby Town

1 James McKeown 
2 Reece Hall-Johnson 
27 Luke Hendrie
12 Akin Famewo 
6 Danny Collins (C) 
8 Mitch Rose 
16 Martyn Woolford 
7 Jake Hessenthaler 
30 Ben Pringle 
39 Wes Thomas 
11 Jordan Cook


23 Sam Russell 
3 Paul Dixon 
15 Harry Clifton 
22 Elliot Embleton 
4 John Welsh 
21 Ahkeem Rose 
18 Charles Vernam

Referee: Keith Stroud 

Attendance: 4,118: (544)

Advertisement block