Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Match Reports

Report: Bury 4-0 Grimsby Town

The Mariners were given a lesson in finishing by Bury at Gigg Lane today.

8 September 2018

Lee Blease
Jake Hessenthaler

Freeview | Listen To What Michael Jolley Had To Say After The Bury Defeat

8 September 2018

The Mariners were given a lesson in finishing by Bury at Gigg Lane today.

A brace from Danny Mayor and further goals from Will Aimson and Nicky Adams saw Michael Jolley’s side being well beaten in front of 886 travelling Town fans.

Town made three changes from the 2-1 Checkatrade Trophy on Tuesday night, with Danny Collins returning to the heart of the defence after recovering from a broken arm.

Elsewhere, Andrew Fox made his first league start on the left of the back four, while Harry Clifton and Mitch Rose were included after playing in the Checkatrade Trophy against Notts County.

The hosts were to take the lead on 14 minutes.

Mayor broke down the left from the halfway line before cutting inside on to his right foot, before curling an unstoppable shot into the corner and beyond McKeown.

The Mariners had their chances to bring themselves level, and should have drawn level when Jordan Cook had two goes at the Bury goal.

The first saw him denied by a Bury defender after some nice build-up play from the visitors, before a mistake from the hosts allowed the striker to go through one-on-one with Joe Murphy, but he could only strike straight at the goalkeeper.

And there was another glorious chance for Town when Rose drove the ball into the penalty area from the right, but Harry Clifton couldn’t get his effort on target as he slid to meet the ball.

The Shaker’s second came from a controversial corner decision, with the ball clearly not crossing the line. From the flag kick, Will Aimson sneaked in at the back post to head home.

McKeown, who had made several saves on the day, made a great stop to deny Chris Dagnall, but the ball came straight back into the box for the striker to shoot at goal, with Adams getting the final touch to bundle the ball over the line.

Mayor grabbed grabbed his second and the Shaker’s fourth minutes later.


1 Joe Murphy 
3 Chris Stokes 
5 Adam Thompson 
4 Will Aimson 
7 Nicky Adams (C) 
21 Callum McFadzean 
12 Callum Styles 
26 Jay O'Shea 
10 Danny Mayor 
32 Caolan Lavery 
11 Chris Dagnall 


13 Mathew Hudson 
2 Tom Miller 
19 Jamie Barjonas 
31 Neil Danns 
29 Callum Hulme 
27 Gold Omotayo 
15 Byron Moore 


1 James McKeown
24 Harry Davis 
19 Andrew Fox 
6 Danny Collins 
25 Alex Whitmore 
4 John Welsh (C) 
15 Harry Clifton 
7 Jake Hessenthaler 
11 Jordan Cook 
8 Mitch Rose 
16 Martyn Woolford


23 Sam Russell 
12 Akin Famewo 
27 Luke Hendrie 
26 Brandon Buckley 
9 JJ Hooper 
14 Louis Robles 
18 Charles Vernam 

Attendance: 3,677 (886) 

Referee: Anthony Backhouse 

Advertisement block