Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

▶️Youtube: We've Met Before - Town See Off The Iron

Watch the highlights of this classic FA Cup tie against Scunthorpe United from 2013.

5 March 2020

Scunthorpe United 1 Grimsby Town 2

With the Mariners set to face the Iron this weekend, we take a look back at the last time we won at Glanford Park. 

Town marched into round two of the FA Cup with a first-round replay victory over local rivals Scunthorpe United in their own back yard.

After bossing the initial tie but failing to find a breakthrough in a goalless draw, the Mariners finished the job in front of almost 2,000 travelling supporters in North Lincolnshire.

Town took the lead through Lenell John-Lewis and they held their advantage until half-time but were pegged back by a terry hawk ridge equaliser seconds after the restart.

But Town were not to be outdone and Clayton McDonald headed home from a Scott Kerr free-kick to seal the victory and a home tie against Northampton Town in the next round.

Town were unchanged for the third game in a row, as boss Paul Hurst again put his trust in the starting XI from the victory against Tamworth last time out and the initial tie.

James McKeown began in goal, with Sam Hatton, Shaun Pearson, McDonald and Aswad Thomas forming the defence.

Joe Colbeck, Craig Disley, Kerr and Scott Neilson were the midfielders, with Ross Hannah and John-Lewis again selected as the front two.

Alex Rodman had to be content with a place on the bench despite netting the second goal at the Lamb Ground on Saturday. He was joined by Jonathan Hedge, Chris Doig, Andy Cook, Liam Hearn, Paul Bignot and Paddy McLaughlin.

Scunthorpe manager Brian Laws made three changes from the team that took to the field in Cleethorpes, with Christian Ribeiro coming in for Cliff Byrne at right-back, as Niall Canavan replaced Luke Waterfall in central defence and Deon Burton was preferred to Etienne Esajas.

United: Slocombe, Mirfin, Dawson, Ribeiro, Canavan, Hawkridge, Collins, McAllister, Spencer,  Adelakun, 70), Burton ( Iwelumo, 78), Winnall.

Subs not used:C Byrne, L Waterfall, E Esajas, L Hornsey, J Severn  

Town: McKeown, Thomas, McDonald, Pearson, Colbeck, Disley, Kerr, Neilson, Mclaughlin, John-Lewis, Hannah, (A Rodman, 89)

Subs not used: Cook, Hearn, Hedge, Doig, Bignot.

Advertisement block